

## Armagh Observatory and Planetarium Structure, Governance and Management

The Armagh Observatory and Planetarium is a single statutory corporation and arms-length body (ALB), 'The Governors of the Armagh Observatory and Planetarium' are as described in *The Armagh Observatory and Planetarium (Northern Ireland) Order 1995*.

This 1995 Order superseded the original 1791 Act of the Irish Parliament entitled 'An Act for Settling and Preserving a Public Observatory and Museum in the City of Armagh For Ever', and an Amendment of 1938 ('The University and Collegiate and Scientific Institutions Act [Northern Ireland], 1938').

The Armagh Observatory and Planetarium (Northern Ireland) Order 1995 (the Order) places a statutory duty on "the Governors of Armagh Observatory and Planetarium" to maintain and manage Armagh Observatory and Planetarium with the purpose of "developing and improving the knowledge, appreciation and practice of astronomy and related sciences."

In accordance with paragraph 8(1) of Schedule 1 of the Order, the Governors have delegated primary responsibility for the governance and management of Armagh Observatory and Planetarium to a Management Committee.

The Board of Governors (the Board) has retained a role to ensure that the culture and character, history and patrimony embodied in Armagh Observatory and Planetarium are protected and preserved and that the institution is managed in line with the statutory purpose outlined in the Order. This role will normally be fulfilled through an Annual Review meeting (visitation) where the Board will receive assurance as to the management and performance of Armagh Observatory and Planetarium from the Management Committee.

## **Board of Governors**

The Board of Governors comprises the Church of Ireland Archbishop of Armagh (Chairman), the Dean and Chapter of the Church of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh, 1 Queen's University Belfast (QUB) nominee, 1 Department for Communities (DfC) nominee and up to 3 additional members nominated by the Board of Governors.

Name	Representing	Date of First Appointment	Expiry Date of Appointment	Length of Each Term	Remuneration	Time Commitment
CHAIRMAN	Church of Ireland Archbishop of	28 Apr 2020			Expenses only	Approx. 5 days per annum
His Grace, The Most Reverend	Armagh					plus preparation/travel
J McDowell, Archbishop of Armagh						time
The Very Reverend Dean	Dean of the Chapter of the Church of	14 Feb 2020			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
S Forster	Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Venerable Archdeacon	Member of the Chapter of the Church	13 Dec 2020			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
E Cairns	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Venerable Archdeacon	Member of the Chapter of the Church	13 Jan 2019			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
Dr P Thompson	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Reverend Canon W M Adair	Member of the Chapter of the Church	10 Sep 2008			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Reverend Canon	Member of the Chapter of the Church	1998			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
R J N Porteus	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Reverend Canon D Hilliard	Member of the Chapter of the Church	13 Mar 2016			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Reverend Canon M Hagan	Member of the Chapter of the Church	23 Apr 2023			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Reverend Canon G McMurray	Member of the Chapter of the Church	20 Oct 2024			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
The Reverend Canon A Totten OBE	Member of the Chapter of the Church	20 Oct 2024			Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
Vacant	Member of the Chapter of the Church				Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
	of Ireland Cathedral of Armagh					preparation/travel time
Professor A Fitzsimmons	Nominated by QUB	18 Apr 2019	1 May 2025	5 Years	Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
		•	,			preparation/travel time
Mr R Wilson	Nominated by the Governors	01 Dec 2019	30 Nov 2029*	5 Years	Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
	,				. ,	preparation/travel time
His Grace, The Most Reverend	Nominated by the Governors	01 Jan 2021	31 Dec 2025	5 Years	Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
E Martin, Archbishop of Armagh					I <i>I</i>	preparation/travel time
Ms S Leslie	Nominated by the Governors	01 Jun 2021	31 May 2026	5 Years	Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
			-,		I	preparation/travel time
Mr G Cox	Nominated by DfC	01 Mar 2021	28 Feb 2026	5 Years	Expenses only	1 day per annum plus
			10.00 2020			preparation/travel time

## **Management Committee**

The Management Committee comprises of a Chair appointed through open competition, 3 nominees from the Board of Governors, 1 Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS) nominee, 1 Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) nominee, 1 Queen's University Belfast (QUB) nominee, 6 Department for Communities (DfC) nominees and up to 3 additional members co-opted by the Board of Governors.

Name	Representing	Date of First Appointment	Expiry Date of Appointment	Length of Each Term	Remuneration	Time Commitment
CHAIRMAN Mr J Briggs	Appointed through open competition	01 Jan 2018	31 Dec 2027*	5 Years	Expenses only	2-3 days per month
Mr G Cox	Nominated by the Governors	19 May 2021	28 Feb 2026	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Mr R Wilson	Nominated by the Governors	01 Dec 2019	30 Nov 2024	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
The Reverend Canon A Totten OBE	Nominated by the Governors	18 Nov 2024	17 Nov 2029	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Professor C Jackman	Nominated by DIAS	01 Jan 2021	31 Dec 2025	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Professor M Darnley	Nominated by STFC	01 Jan 2021	31 Dec 2025	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Professor M Mathioudakis	Nominated by QUB	11 Nov 2016	10 Nov 2026*	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Mr P Kennedy	Nominated by DfC	01 Mar 2021	28 Feb 2026	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Dr K Lemon	Nominated by DfC	01 Mar 2021	28 Feb 2026	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Mr E Rooney	Nominated by DfC	01 Mar 2021	28 Feb 2026	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Professor R Hunter	Nominated by DfC	01 Jun 2024	31 May 2029	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Ms G McVeigh	Nominated by DfC	01 Jun 2024	31 May 2029	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Mr R O'Hara	Nominated by DfC	01 Jun 2024	31 May 2029	5 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Professor G Cotter	Co-opted by the Governors	01 Oct 2024	30 Sep 2027	3 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time
Ms S Leverment	Co-opted by the Governors	01 Oct 2024	30 Sep 2027	3 Years	Expenses only	4 days per annum plus preparation/travel time

\*Second term or more